Some studies may be online survey studies that are administered in the system. If you sign-up for one of these studies, you will be taken immediately to the survey. As soon as you complete the survey, you will receive credit.
You may withdraw from the survey at any time by clicking the Withdraw button on the top right corner of the screen. When you withdraw you have an option to withdraw without the chance to receive credit, or with the chance to receive credit. If you withdraw without the chance to receive credit, then your sign-up will be completely deleted from the system. This is useful if you have changed your mind about participating in the survey, but might like to participate in it again at a later time.
If you choose to withdraw with the option to receive credit, then your sign-up will be logged and the researcher will be notified of the withdrawal. However, you will not be granted credit immediately. The researcher may then choose to grant credit to you for your participation in the study. If this is done, you will not have the opportunity to participate in this study again (because you may not participate or receive credit for the same online survey study more than once). With this withdrawal option, you are not required to provide any explanation of why you are choosing to withdraw, but you may provide an explanation if you like. This information will be sent to the researcher when they are notified of your withdrawal.
With either withdrawal option, all the survey responses you provided are permanently deleted at the time you withdraw.